University of Helsinki
Helsinki, Finland · Official source information verified 2026-10-12.
How to evaluate University of Helsinki
Helsinki's programme search separates English-taught master's options from bachelor's study. Its general fee page lists different master's fees by programme and a separate bachelor's amount. A prospective applicant should use the exact language and degree page to establish eligibility and the tuition category.
Understanding the published tuition & billing basis
The official general fee page lists English-taught master's fees of €13,000, €15,000 or €18,000 per academic year, depending on programme, and €13,000 for an English-language bachelor's programme. It does not establish a fee for every 2027/28 entrant. Check the named programme and entry-year terms before treating this range or a possible tuition waiver as an offer; the current scholarship section identifies its award cycle separately.
What to check before submitting your application
Check the application route and discipline-specific entry conditions for the English-taught programme, then its exact tuition and scholarship procedure. Do not assume that being eligible for a master's fee waiver means a living stipend; the official award terms control the coverage.
Academic structure, faculties and degree selection
The University of Helsinki is Finland's oldest and largest multidisciplinary research university, offering more than 35 two-year (120-ECTS) International Master's Programmes taught entirely in English across four campuses (City Centre, Kumpula for natural sciences, Meilahti for medicine, and Viikki for life sciences and agriculture), plus an English-taught Bachelor's Programme in Science. International master's admissions run during a concentrated winter application window (typically early to mid-January via Studyinfo.fi) for studies starting in late August. Applicants are evaluated holistically on how closely their prior bachelor's coursework matches the target master's discipline, academic grade average, and programme-specific written questions.
Editorial source review: 2026-10-12. Official university programme and fee links are provided below.
Published study costs & complete budget breakdown
Published tuition scope: Non-EU/EEA English-taught Master's €13,000–€18,000 per academic year, programme dependent; Bachelor's €13,000 per academic year · Entry year not specified on general fee page; confirm programme and intake
How tuition, mandatory campus fees and city living costs work together
Citizens of non-EU/EEA countries who do not hold permanent Finnish residence permits pay annual tuition fees for English-taught bachelor's and master's degrees. The University of Helsinki groups its English-taught master's programmes into three annual tuition bands—€13,000, €15,000, or €18,000 per academic year—while the English-taught Bachelor's Programme in Science is priced at €13,000 per year. Because the general fee page does not lock every future cohort's programme band in one line, applicants must verify the exact tier on their chosen programme's Studyinfo listing. Enrolled degree students also pay the mandatory Student Union (HYY) membership fee and the Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS/YTHS) healthcare fee each academic year, and must satisfy Migri's monthly living-funds requirement for a Finnish student residence permit.
| Budget Category | How It Works at University of Helsinki | Where to Verify Official Figures |
|---|---|---|
| International Tuition (University of Helsinki) | Non-EU/EEA English-taught Master's €13,000–€18,000 per academic year, programme dependent; Bachelor's €13,000 per academic year · Entry year not specified on general fee page; confirm programme and intake | Official tuition schedule ↗ |
| Mandatory Campus, Union & Health Fees | Mandatory Student Union (HYY) membership fee, mandatory Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS/YTHS) healthcare fee (paid to Kela), and private health insurance required for Migri permits. | Official fee breakdown ↗ |
| Helsinki Housing & Visa Maintenance | HOAS (Foundation for Student Housing in the Helsinki Region) student apartments and Migri 12-month residence-permit living-funds proof. | University cost of living guide ↗ |
Step-by-step pre-application checklist for University of Helsinki
- Confirm which of the three annual tuition tiers (€13,000, €15,000, or €18,000/year) applies to your exact English-taught Master's Programme on Studyinfo.fi.
- Prepare all required degree certificates, transcripts, and authorized translations before the mid-January application window closes.
- Check whether you are applying for a University of Helsinki tuition-fee scholarship during the admission application and note that tuition waivers do not cover living expenses.
- Add the mandatory Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS/YTHS) fee, Student Union (HYY) fee, and private health insurance required for the residence permit.
- Verify the Finnish Immigration Service (Migri) one-year living-funds requirement for Helsinki student residence-permit applications.
Cost source checked 2026-10-12. Always match the fee schedule to your exact degree level, citizenship/fee status, credit load and entry year.
How to use University of Helsinki’s official degree catalogue
This guide explains University of Helsinki’s billing structure, credit system, and admission rules at the university level. Because entry prerequisites and module lists vary by department, open the official degree catalogue below to check your exact major or master’s track.
Scholarships, tuition waivers & financial aid
Funding rules at University of Helsinki depend on your degree level, nationality, and whether awards are automatic merit discounts or need-assessed packages. Check the official fee and funding pages below to confirm whether a separate scholarship application is required before the admission deadline.
Frequently asked questions about University of Helsinki
How are tuition fees structured for English-taught degrees at the University of Helsinki?
Non-EU/EEA students pay €13,000 per year for the English-taught Bachelor’s Programme in Science and €13,000, €15,000, or €18,000 per year for two-year International Master’s Programmes depending on the track.
When does the application window open for University of Helsinki master’s programmes?
International master’s admissions run once a year in early to mid-January via Finland’s national Studyinfo.fi portal for autumn (late August) entry.
Do University of Helsinki students pay a healthcare fee in addition to private insurance?
Yes. Degree students pay the statutory Finnish Student Health Service (FSHS/YTHS) fee each semester to Kela, while non-EU students also need compliant private health insurance for their Migri permit.
Compare related reviewed university & visa guides
Compare University of Helsinki against other reviewed university profiles and immigration guides on ScholarPath:
- University College London (London, United Kingdom)
- University of Oxford (Oxford, United Kingdom)
- University of Bristol (Bristol, United Kingdom)
- University of British Columbia (Vancouver, Canada)
- University of Sheffield (Sheffield, United Kingdom)
Official sources and next step
Choose the exact programme in the university directory and check its eligibility and fee schedule. For immigration planning, use the destination government’s current instructions.